Facebook tests option for page owners to give users feedback about why comments were deleted


By Brittany Darwell Comment

Facebook appears to be testing a new option for page owners to send users a private message about why their comments were removed from the page, according to All Facebook.

Social Yeah Founder Kevin Evanetski found a “Give Facebook User Feedback” link after deleting a comment from his page. The link pulls up a message dialog and prompt to tell the user why the comment was objectionable. Admins might want to use this feature to explain their community guidelines and encourage users to repost a more appropriate comment, however, this could lead to further confrontation. Facebook might want to consider giving page owners options for pre-filled messages, similar to what the social network does for kids who don’t like what someone posted about them.

Previously, admins were able to hide comments without completely removing them. This prevents unwanted comments from being viewed by other fans, but keeps the comment visible to the person who wrote it. The option helps avoid issues where commenters get upset that a page has removed their comments. Recently, a bug has eliminated this feature from some pages.

Image from AllFacebook.com.