RTCA Honors Vic Ratner with Career Achievement Award

20140612_193948At last night’s Radio and Television Correspondents’ Association annual Congressional correspondents’ dinner, recipients of several awards were recognized for excellence in areas of television and radio reporting.

The evening’s comedic guest was Nick Offerman, who plays Ron Swanson on “Parks and Recreation.” White House Chief of Staff Denis McDonough also offered remarks. Honored guests included Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton; Michael Steel, press secretary to the Speaker of the House; Adam Jentleson, communications director to the Majority Leader of the Senate; Drew Hammill, communications director to the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; Mike Mastrian, director of the Senate Radio-TV Gallery; Olga Ramirez Kornacki, director of the House Radio-TV Gallery; and comedienne Megan Mullally.

Click through for a list of the evening’s award recipients and here for our list of the top ten comedic fails of the night.

The Joan S. Barone Award for excellence in Washington based national affairs/public policy broadcasting, in honor of the late Joan Barone, producer for “The CBS Evening News with Dan Rather” and the CBS news broadcast “Face the Nation.”
Presented by CBS News’ Bill Plante
Recipient: ABC News’ David Kerley and Daniel Steinberger

The David Bloom Award
for excellence in enterprise reporting, in honor of the late David Bloom, an NBC News correspondent and co-anchor of “TODAY,” who died in 2003 while covering the Iraq War.
Presented by David’s daughters, Christine, Nicole, and Ava Bloom
Recipient: Olly Lambert, of the UK’s Channel 4

The Jerry Thompson Memorial Award
, in honor of the late Jerry Thompson, a CNN photographer who lost his battle with cancer in 2011.
Presented by Kelly O’Donnell of NBC News
Recipient: The late Eric Hanson of C-SPAN

The Career Achievement Award for Distinguished Reporting on Congress

Presented by Ann Compton of ABC News Radio
Recipient: Former ABC News-er Vic Ratner


This year’s officers of the association were CNN’s Lisa Desjardins (chairman), NBC News’ Frank Thorp V (vice chair), AP’s Gerald Bodlander, CBS News’ Alicia Budich, C-SPAN’s Fred Haberstick and Ben O’Connell, ABC News’ John Parkinson, FOX News Channel’s Jason Scanlon, and The Takeaway, PRI/WNYC’s Todd Zwillich.