Periscope Introduces Closed Groups, Group Invites

Periscope launched two updates for the groups feature in its mobile app

In response to user feedback, Periscope launched two updates for the groups features in its mobile application.

First, users of the live-streaming app can now create closed groups, in which the creator is the only user who can add or remove members, or change the group’s title. Users can turn an existing group into a closed group by turning on the “Closed Group” toggle on the group’s management screen.

Elsewhere, users can now stop themselves from being automatically added to groups by turning off “Auto-accept Group Invites” in the app’s settings menu. With this option turned off, users will receive group invites which they can accept or reject, rather than being automatically added to groups.

Periscope is available to download for free on the iTunes App Store and Google Play.