Guinness Is Going Vegan

Something fishy is going on.

For two and a half centuries, a certain beer — so thick it could be mistaken for synthetic motor oil — has been inebriating Irishmen (and a few dozen others) with glee.

If you have never had a freshly poured pint of Guinness, the density of this brew feels like quicksand going down your gullet — a very foamy, rich, stout, ice-cold pint of quicksand. For 256 years, it’s been that way. Few have complained. However, a change is coming.

The Guinness Company is planning to screw tinker with that regaled recipe for — vegans?! 

Not that most — if any — barflies give a crap about the recipe because when the taste hits you, most folk can’t even read clearly. So, what is the kerfuffle anyway?

Fish bladders. Kinda’ makes you stone cold sober thinking about it, huh?

Yep, craft enthusiasts. One of the most historic brands of beer is removing gill-bearing aquatic craniate sacks of urine from that smooth-tasting brew. Sure, you can drink the lining of that uric acid balloon, but when vegans are faced with the same fate, that’s where Guinness draws the line.

“Isinglass has been used widely within the brewing industry as a means of filtration for decades,” the company said in a statement [via CNNMoney.com]. “However, because of its use we could not label Guinness as suitable for vegetarians and have been looking for an alternative solution for some time. We are now pleased to have identified a new process through investment in a state-of-the-art filtration system.”

That new blackened catfish pee-pee-free beer will be available in 2016. Sure, the yeast won’t settle as fast in the fermentation process but now you can share a pint with your friendly neighborhood vegans.

Cheers!

 

[FEATURED PHOTO: Getty Images]