The 10 Most Popular People On Twitter [STATS]

  • SHARES

By Shea Bennett Comment

The 10 Most Popular People On Twitter [STATS]

Katy Perry, who became the first Twitter user to reach 50 million followers in January of this year, maintains her position as Twitter’s most-followed profile, with a lead now well in excess of one million followers over second-placed (and former number one) Justin Bieber.

While the rest of the top 10 is unchanged, Taylor Swift continues to gain ground on Lady Gaga, and Ellen Degeneres has gained more followers, month-on-month, than anyone else.

Here’s the latest look at Twitter’s 10 most-popular individuals.

1. Katy Perry (@katyperry, 51,942,556 followers)
2. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber, 50,678,139)
3. Barack Obama (@barackobama, 42,334,503)
4. Lady Gaga (@ladygaga, 41,173,649)
5. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13, 39,987,886)
6. Britney Spears (@britneyspears, 36,614,247)
7. Rihanna (@rihanna, 34,715,826)
8. Justin Timberlake (@jtimberlake, 31,554,888)
9. Ellen Degeneres (@TheEllenShow, 28,277,975)
10. Jennifer Lopez (@JLo, 27,121,880)

(Source: Twitter Counter.)