USA Today Reshuffles Its San Francisco Tech Team

A roundup of who covers what.

Some big tech media news via the often valuable Facebook group PR, Marketing and Media Czars: USA Today has changed some of the beat assignments for its San Francisco-based tech reporting team.

One of the group’s members compiled a run-down of who covers what in the new setup, along with their respective email addresses and Twitter handles:

  • Jessica Guyunn, who gave some great tips on pitching in Ed Zitron’s PR panel earlier this year, will continue to focus on Facebook, Google and Twitter-related news. She may be reached at jguynn@usatoday.com and followed on Twitter @jguynn.
  • Jon Swartz (@jswartz), the organization’s SF bureau chief, will focus more exclusively on Apple and Hewlett-Packard. He’s at jswartz@usatoday.com
  • Marco della Cava now handles the Microsoft, start-up and Oracle beats. He’s @marcodellacava and mdellacava@usatoday.com
  • Mike Snider will specialize in Yahoo and Netflix. He’s msnider@usatoday.com and @mikesnider.
  • Elizabeth Weise has the Amazon, Intel and general cybersecurity beats at eweise@usatoday.com and @eweise.
  • Producer/reporter Brett Molina covers gaming along with BlackBerry and retail giant Alibaba: bmolina@usatoday.com/@brettmolina23
  • Kaja Whitehouse (@kajawhitehouse, kwhitehouse@usatoday.com) has all things “sharing economy,” primarily Uber and Airbnb. Much of her earlier coverage concerned finance.
  • Regular tech columnists Ed Baig and Jefferson Graham will handle product reviews and features on related launches. They’re @edbaig and @jeffersongraham/ebaig@usatoday.com and jgraham@usatoday.com

Not all of these assignments are strictly new, but it’s still a very helpful guide for those seeking big-exposure coverage for tech clients.

We would suggest that you pitch all of these reporters strategically instead of using the old mail merge, but you already knew that.

Also: join the Facebook group if you’re not already a member.

[h/t Sheryll Alexander]