CFDA Names Designers of the Year: Francisco Costa, Tom Ford, Tory Burch

CFDA awards.jpgLast night, the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) held its annual awards gala at the New York Public Library. Calvin Klein Collection designer Francisco Costa added a second womenswear designer of the year award to his mantelpiece (he also won in 2006), Tom Ford gained a menswear designer of the year award to match his 2001 statuette for Gucci womenswear, and Tory Burch proved the power of the ballet flat (particularly one topped by chunky signature hardware and named for one’s mother) by beating out Marc Jacobs and Michael Kors to take home the award for accessory design.

In addition to the hotly anticipated designer of the year awards, the CFDA honored executive fashion director Candy Pratts Price with its Eugenia Sheppard Award, while designers Dries van Noten and Carolina Herrera received the International Award and Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, respectively. Meanwhile, New York mayor Michael Bloomberg received a special tribute by the CFDA’s board of directors. Below, we’ve listed the 2008 CFDA Award nominees and highlighted the winners in yellow (go, Rodarte, go!). Check out the lookbooks of all the nominees on the CFDA website.

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein | Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler | Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian | Thom Browne | Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year
Tory Burch | Marc Jacobs for Marc Jacobs | Michael Kors

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte | Thakoon Panichgul | Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Patrik Ervell | Tim Hamilton | Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Philip Crangi | Justin Giunta for Subversive | Joy Gryson