Russert / MTP To Be Inducted Into NAB Hall of Fame

From the release:

    As the longest running television program in the world and as the No. 1 Sunday morning public affairs program for nine straight years, “Meet the Press” will be inducted into the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Broadcasting Hall of Fame at the NAB 2007 Television Luncheon on Monday, April 16 in Las Vegas. Tim Russert, moderator and managing editor of the program will accept the award.

    Said Russert, “‘Meet the Press’ is a national treasure, and as its temporary custodians, our entire team is deeply honored by this recognition.”

    “Meet the Press” will celebrate its 60th anniversary in November 2007, having made its NBC-TV debut on November 6, 1947. Acclaimed by newsmakers and television critics, “Meet the Press” consistently makes Monday morning headlines and has become the most quoted television program in the world.

    “For over half a century, ‘Meet the Press’ has served as the benchmark for public affairs programming,” said NAB President and CEO David K. Rehr. “NAB is proud to recognize this institution of excellence in journalism and we are honored to present the award to the program’s longest serving moderator, Tim Russert.”

    Tim Russert, NBC News’ senior vice president and Washington bureau chief, has moderated this venerable television institution since December 8, 1991.

    President John F. Kennedy once called “Meet the Press” the “fifty-first state.” Since then, every man who has occupied the Oval Office has appeared on the program during their career. In 2004, Russert conducted an exclusive, hour-long interview with President George W. Bush from the Oval Office, his first Sunday morning interview since becoming president. Every Vice President since Alben Barkley in 1952, every Secretary of State from John Foster Dulles to Condoleezza Rice, and every Secretary of Defense from Robert McNamara to Donald Rumsfeld have appeared on the program.

    Betsy Fischer is the executive producer of “Meet the Press with Tim Russert,” Michelle Jaconi and Rebecca Samuels are the producers.