And Your Choice for Top All-Time Anchor Team…

King and Queen of the anchor desk
FishbowlNY readers rallied behind our poll for the All-Time Anchor Team. No doubt it brought a flood of memories from a bygone era.

Rolland Smith, for example, was the only personality selected for working with three different co-anchors during his 17 years at WCBS/Channel 2: Jim Jensen, Dave Marash, and Michele Marsh.

Here’s the Top 5 countdown of your picks for New York’s All-Time Anchor Team.

5. Rolland Smith and Jim Jensen — 4 percent of the vote. (1975 to 1987)

4. Smith and Michele Marsh — 7 percent (1979 to 1987)

3. Jim Watkins and Kaity Tong — 9 percent (1998 to 2010)

2. Roger Grimsby and Bill Beutel — 26 percent (1970 to 1986)

and at number 1….was there really any surprise?

Chuck Scarborough and Sue Simmons — 33 percent (1980 to present)

“It’s been an extraordinary privilege sharing an anchor desk with Sue Simmons for over three decades serving our viewers in the metropolitan area,” Scarborough tells FishbowlNY. “Being chosen as their all-time favorite anchor team is both humbling and heartwarming.”

Chuck and Sue began their march toward immortality when they first sat side by side in 1980. They have been on the air longer than any other anchor team in New York City history.