Monday Stir

By Kyle O'Brien 

-The Connecticut Lottery Corporation, through its partnership with creative agency Decker and Makiaris Media, have launched their “Spirit of Winning” holiday campaign, featuring a bold-yet-silent snowman. The campaign positions scratch tickets from the CT Lottery as the perfect holiday gift—give tickets and eliminate the stress of shopping. The star is a cockeyed snowman, who gently reminds people about the scratch tickets in creepy/humorous ways, like throwing snowballs at them and creeping around their couches.

-The shortlists for Adweek’s Agency of the Year continue to be released and today’s is the Midsized category, featuring the best U.S.-based agencies with 101-250 employees.


-Excluding U.S. political advertising, advertising revenue grew by 6.5% in 2022, according to WPP media investment arm GroupM’s 2022 year-end “This Year Next Year” forecast.

-Entertainment trade publisher Variety, part of Penske Media Corporation, has notched a year of record revenue and reach.

-The latest edition of Marketing Morsels features creative ideas from Heinz, Hot Pockets, KFC, Taco Bell and more.

-Sports betting platform PointsBet Sportsbook featured a clip that saw former NFL star quarterback Drew Brees struck by lightning in what ended up as a promotional marketing stunt.

-Seven industry luminaries will be induced into the American Advertising Federation (AAF) Hall of Fame. Inductees for its 72nd class include: Raúl Alarcón, chairman of the board and CEO, Spanish Broadcasting System, Inc.; Cathie Black, principal, Madison Park Ventures; former chairman and president, Hearst Magazines; Louis Carr, president of media sales, Black Entertainment Television (BET); Antonio J. Lucio, principal and founder, 5S Diversity and former global CMO at Meta, HP, Visa and PepsiCo; Renetta E. McCann, chief inclusion experience officer, Publicis Groupe; Aaron M. Walton, CEO, Walton Isaacson; John Wren, chairman and CEO, Omnicom Group. Unilever will also be honored. Induction ceremonies will take place on April 27, 2023.

The AAF Advertising Hall of Fame has announced its 2023 class.