2016 Edgar Award Winners Revealed

By Maryann Yin 

theedgarsThe Mystery Writers of America have revealed the 2016 Edgar Award winners. According to the press release, the announcements were made at the organization’s 70th gala banquet in New York City.

This annual prize, named after beloved writer Edgar Allan Poe, was established in 1945 to honor the best authors within the mystery genre. Below, we’ve posted the full list of winners.

2016 Edgar Award Winners

Best Novel: Let Me Die in His Footsteps by Lori Roy

Best First Novel by an American Author: The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen

Best Paperback Original: Whipping Boy: The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney

Best Fact Crime: Whipping Boy: The Forty-Year Search for My Twelve-Year-Old Bully by Allen Kurzweil

Best Critical/Biographical: The Golden Age of Murder by Martin Edwards

Best Short Story: “Obits” (found in the Bazaar of Bad Dreams collection) by Stephen King

Best Juvenile: Footer Davis Probably is Crazy by Susan Vaught

Best Young Adult: A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Best Television Episode Teleplay: “Gently with the Women” (from the George Gently teleplay) by Peter Flannery

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: “Chung Ling Soo’s Greatest Trick” (from the Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine) by Russell W. Johnson

Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award: Little Pretty Things by Lori Rader-Day