NATAS to Honor Barbara Walters with Lifetime Achievement Award

By Andrew Gauthier 

Barbara Walters, one of the most famous correspondents in the history of television news, and creator and co-host of ABCs ‘The View’, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at the 30th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards.

Ms. Walters first received national attention during her 15 years on NBCs ‘Today Show.’ In 1976 she joined ABC News, becoming the first woman to co-host the network news. For 25 years she served as co-host and chief correspondent of ABC News’ ’20/20,’ and has hosted numerous primetime specials, as well as the top-rated ‘Barbara Walters Specials.’

Previous winners of the Lifetime Achievement Emmy Award for News & Documentary include Tom Brokaw, Bill Moyers, Ted Koppel, Ken Burns, Tim Russert and Bob Schieffer. More…