KUSA Among The Top Winners Of 2017 Edward R. Murrow Awards

By Stephanie Tsoflias Siegel 

KUSA brought home 12 Edward R. Murrow Awards, the most for a single station in the large market category.

WAFB in Baton Rouge, WBIR in Knoxville and WGME led the small market category, all winning 9 awards.

The RTDNA announced the 751 winners today. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism across radio, television and digital news organizations across the country.


“Remarkable journalism is being done every day in newsrooms across this country,” said RTDNA chair Vincent Duffy. “We’re proud to recognize the most outstanding ways journalists are keeping the public informed, holding the powerful accountable and enhancing the quality of life in their communities.”

The Raycom-owned station in New Orleans WVUE in New Orleans won 11 awards while KARE-TV in Minneapolis took home 10.

All regional winners advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May.

Here is the full list of winners.