Peabody Has Appointed 6 New Members to Its Bicoastal Board of Directors

By A.J. Katz 

Peabody have announced the appointment of several new members to its board of directors, and they include journalists, news and entertainment industry executives.

One of the new appointments to Peabody’s East Coast board is Soledad O’Brien. The award-winning TV newser, with whom we spoke back in May, now anchors of Matter of Fact with Soledad O’Brien, a Sunday show syndicated by Hearst Television and produced at the Newseum in Washington D.C.

She’s also a correspondent for HBO’s Real Sports, moderated a BET town hall back in June, and she runs a production company, Starfish Media that’s dedicated to non-fiction programming and branded content.


And you most certainly know O’Brien for her active Twitter account.

Additional new members of the East Coast board include: NPR’s svp of news and editorial director Nancy Barnes; Univision’s evp of government and corporate affairs Jessica Herrera-Flanigan; ViacomCBS Domestic Media Networks’ president of entertainment and youth brand Chris McCarthy, and ESPN’s evp of content Connor Schell.

These 5 join the current Peabodys East Coast board, which induces:

  • John Huey (Chair), Former editor in chief Time Inc.
  • Philip Balboni, Founder, CEO and co-executive editor, Daily Chatter
  • Diana Barrett, Founder and President, The Fledgling Fund
  • Caty Borum Chattoo, Director, Center for Media & Social Impact, American University
  • Katie Couric, Journalist and Author; Founder, Katie Couric Media
  • Maria Cuomo Cole, Producer/Founder, Cuomo Cole Productions
  • Nancy Dubuc, CEO, Vice Media
  • Kerri Hoffman, CEO, PRX
  • Dave Isay, President and Founder, StoryCorps
  • Paula Kerger, President and CEO, PBS
  • Pat Mitchell, CEO and Producer; Founder, TEDWomen & Chair, Sundance Institute board
  • Courteney Monroe, CEO, National Geographic Global Networks
  • Sheila Nevins, Head, MTV Documentary Films, MTV Studios
  • Michele Norris-Johnson, Founding Director, The Race Card Project & Former NPR Host
  • Jay Rosen, Professor, New York University
  • Malika Saada Saar, Senior Counsel, Civil and Human Rights, Google
  • Kashif Shaikh, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Pillars Fund
  • Neil Shapiro, President and CEO, WNET New York Public Media
  • Marcia Smith, Co-Founder and President, Firelight Media

The West Coast board is adding one new member: CAA partner and managing director Steve Lafferty.

Here are the other members of the West Coast board:

  • Bruce M. Ramer (Chair), Partner, Gang, Tyre, Ramer & Brown
  • Kevin Beggs, Chairman, Lionsgate Television
  • Casey Bloys, President, Programming, HBO
  • Emerson Coleman, Vice President, Programming, Hearst Television Inc.
  • Susanne Daniels, Global Head of Original Content, YouTube
  • Stephen Davis, Executive Vice President and Chief Content Officer, Hasbro, Inc.
  • Craig Erwich, Senior Vice President, Head of Content, Hulu
  • Susie Fitzgerald, Executive Vice President, Scripted Programming, AMC and Sundance TV
  • Cliff Gilbert-Lurie, Senior Partner, Ziffren Brittenham LLP
  • Roma Khanna, CEO, Revolt Media and TV
  • David Kramer, Co-President, United Talent Agency
  • John Landgraf, Chairman, FX Networks and FX Productions
  • Steve Mosko, CEO, Village Roadshow Entertainment
  • David Nevins, Chief Creative Officer, CBS Corporation and Chairman and CEO, Showtime Networks
  • Andy Patman, Co-Head, TV Literary Department, Paradigm Talent Agency
  • Rick Rosen, Head of Television, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment
  • Peter Roth, President and Chief Content Officer, Warner Bros. Television Group
  • Jennifer Salke, Head of Amazon Studios Inc.
  • Ted Sarandos, Chief Content Officer, Netflix
  • Michael Schwimmer, Executive Vice President, International, Business Development and Strategy, Dish and Sling TV
  • David Stapf, President, CBS Television Studios
  • Paul Telegdy, Co-Chairman, NBC Entertainment
  • Zack Van Amburg, Head of Worldwide Video, Apple

Launched in 2015, the organization’s board of directors are separate from the traditional board of jurors that give Peabody Awards for excellence in broadcasting and digital media. Peabody is based at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia.