Norah O’Donnell, Cynthia McFadden Honor Female Journalists

By Brian Flood 

CBS This Morning co-anchor Norah O’Donnell and NBC News’ Cynthia McFadden hosted The International Women’s Media Foundation Courage in Journalism awards on Wednesday at New York City’s famed Cipriani to honor female journalists who set themselves apart by their extraordinary bravery.

“Today we honor five incredible women who have spent their lives bearing witness to the truth. Together these women join a community of more than 100 women journalists from 50 nations, each united by an unwavering dedication to their calling,” McFadden said.

Presenters included ABC News president James Goldston, CBS This Morning co-anchor Gayle King, Time COO Norman Pearlstine and NBC News president Deborah Turness. This year’s honorees are Zambia’s Muvi Television reporter Mwape Kumwenda, The Daily Beast contributor Anna Nemtsova, freelance journalist Lourdes Ramirez and retired AP special correspondent and trial reporter Linda Deutsch received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Filmmaker, philanthropist and activist Abigail Disney received the IWMF Leadership Honor.


“They have been criticized, threatened, and often treated as criminals at home, but today we give them a rare and much-deserved ‘thank you,'” O’Donnell said.

From left to right: Cynthia McFadden, Anna Nemtsova, Mwape Kumwenda, Lourdes Ramirez, Linda Deutsch and Norah O’Donnell.