Broadcast, Cable Networks Plan State of the Union Coverage

By Merrill Knox 

All four major broadcast networks, along with the cable news channels and the business networks, are planning special coverage for President Obama’s third State of the Union address.

The broadcast networks will kick off special coverage beginning at 9pmET — anchored by Scott Pelley on CBS, Brian Williams on NBC and Diane Sawyer and George Stephanopoulos on ABC. Fox News anchor Shepard Smith will anchor coverage for the Fox Broadcast Network.

On the cable networks:


On Fox News, Bret Baier will anchor coverage from 8:55pmET through the Republican response, expected to conclude around 10:30pmET, before turning it over to Greta Van Susteren for an abbreviated edition of “On the Record.” Sean Hannity will be live at 11pmET.

Wolf Blitzer and Anderson Cooperwill anchor CNN’s coverage beginning at 8pmET. They will be joined by  Candy Crowley and John King. After the speeches wrap, Cooper takes over with a special “AC360” that will air live until midnight.

MSNBC’s coverage, with Rachel Maddow anchoring, will also begin at 8pmET. She will be joined by MSNBC’s prime time hosts: Chris Matthews, Al Sharpton, Ed Schultz and Lawrence O’Donnell. Schultz will host a special live edition of “The Ed Show” at 11pmET.

On the business networks:

Neil Cavuto will anchor coverage for Fox Business from the Newseum in Washington, DC, beginning at 8:55pmET. Cavuto will be joined by Peter Barnes from the White House and Rich Edson from Capitol Hill.

On Bloomberg, Margaret Brennan and Washington editor Al Hunt will be live beginning at 8:30pmET. Julianna Goldman and Peter Cook will contribute coverage from Washington.

CNBC coverage begins at 9pmET with anchor Carl Quintanilla at CNBC headquaters and chief Washington correspondent John Harwood in DC.