AAF Celebrates 30th Anniversary of Advertising Hall of Achievement With 8 New Inductees

By Kyle O'Brien 

The American Advertising Federation (AAF) will induct eight new honorees into its Advertising Hall of Achievement (AHOA) as it celebrates the 30th anniversary of the Hall. The AHOA celebrates those individuals 40 years old or under who are helping to lead the industry forward.

The AHOA Class of 2022 was chosen following a months-long process that included a rigorous review of the candidates by an esteemed group of industry leaders, including marketers representing media, consumer goods and social platforms.

“The Advertising Hall of Achievement has always foretold the future of our industry. This year’s group of inductees embodies an inspiring evolution, a new spirit of creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship and public service that’s setting a new standard for us all,” said Ross Martin, co-chair of the AHOA Council of Judges and president of Known, in a statement.


The group is inclusive, cutting across companies, media, titles and ethnicities, but united in its desire to do good, challenge the status quo, implore the industry to be better and to innovate.

Here are the honorees:

TJ Adeshola, head of global content partnerships, Twitter. For the last 10 years, Adeshola has led his Twitter team to make an impact on the industry. He has become synonymous with the business of sports, though his impact extends well beyond, especially when it comes to uplifting diverse voices and women’s sports. He has consistently been the driving force behind the work and is set to take on the world.

Bernice Chao, head of integrated creative, Zambezi and co-founder, Asians in Advertising. Chao is helping to shape the AAPI community. She’s one of the few female Asian American creative leaders working at the largest female-owned advertising agency in North America, giving back to the world by fighting against xenophobia toward Asian-Americans.

Bing Chen, executive chairman, CEO and founder, Gold House. Principal architect of the multibillion dollar creator economy at YouTube, Chen used his newfound fame to help create the largest network of Asian and Pacific Islander cultural leaders to fight together for socioeconomic equity. He created AU Ventures, a holding company to house a range of companies that help ensure social impact and charity are not afterthoughts. Chen will also be receiving the Jack Averett Volunteer Spirit Award for industry service.

Angela M. Guzman, svp and head of supplier diversity, Americas, Dentsu. Guzman has taken a data-driven approach to redefine the way Fortune 500 companies think about equity, driving equity through economic empowerment and putting money in the hands of many. That has come to life across Dentsu’s entire supply chain.

Elle McCarthy, vp of brand, Electronic Arts. McCarthy’s work philosophy has been described as a not-so-delicate balance of punk rock and progress. Today, as EA’s first-ever vp of brand, McCarthy fights toxicity in gaming and promotes healthier play. Her message is one of hope.

Jordan Muse, managing director, The Martin Agency. Muse has a drive for creativity, diversity and community. He knows that the work lands better when the team creating it reflects culture—and that can be seen in the young people and community he has built around him. His role is to uplift.

Stephanie Nadi Olson, CEO and founder, We Are Rosie. As the daughter of a refugee, Nadi Olson understands what it means to be “otherized.” She bootstrapped We Are Rosie as a way to match talent of all identities with brands seeking expertise across all marketing disciplines. In the process, Olson is normalizing flexible work within corporate America.

Crystal Zerrenner, chief growth officer, Thinx Inc. Zerrenner is relentless in her pursuit of strategies that are first and foremost rooted in purpose. From Barbie to Thinx, Zerrenner knows how to incite a brand movement to ignite exponential business growth.

“On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Advertising Hall of Achievement, I cannot think of a more worthy, more representative, more resourceful and more inspirational group of honorees to lead us into our next decade,” said Steve Pacheco, president and CEO, American Advertising Federation, in a statement.

“Our eight inductees radiate talent and passion and speak volumes about the very capable hands our industry is in. With so much change around us, that is so reassuring,” added Hayley Romer, co-chair and former chief revenue officer and publisher at The Atlantic.

The 2022 honorees join a notable list of past inductees, some of whom have gone on to enter the Advertising Hall of Fame. View the full list of Advertising Hall of Achievement members here.

Ceremonies will take place on November 16 at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York City and are expected to attract more than 450 corporate business leaders. For further information on attending the celebration, visit aaf.org/ahoa.