ESPN and EA Partner on ‘Madden NFL 15′ Cover Vote Promotion


By Adam Flomenbaum 

Screen Shot 2014-05-10 at 11.03.33 AMAt the NFL Draft last Thursday night, ESPN and EA announced the return of the ‘Madden NFL’ cover vote. ESPN and EA have narrowed the field down to a ‘Sweet 16’ of NFL rising talent, and fans will be able to choose which player graces the cover of ‘Madden NFL 15,’ which will be released on August 26.

ESPN will leverage its TV, digital, and social assets to promote the competition. Fans can vote once per day at, and take to @ESPNNFL on Twitter and the NFL on ESPN Facebook page to debate the picks using the hashtag #MaddenCover. Every Thursday for the next four weeks, the winners of each round will be announced on ESPN’s ‘NFL Live,’ and players still alive in the bracket will make appearances on ESPN programming to campaign for themselves.

“Every year, ESPN and EA SPORTS continue to go bigger with the Madden NFL Cover Vote,  and there’s no better way to kick off the vote for Madden NFL 15 than having last year’s winner and NFL legend Barry Sanders announcing it on stage at the NFL Draft,” said Raphael Poplock, vice president of games and partnerships for ESPN.  “We are building on our momentum over the last three Madden NFL Cover Votes to deliver an engaging experience that puts the cover in the hands of the fans, which have resulted in some of ESPN’s most successful social activations to date.”

The winner will be announced from LA LIVE Plaza during the 6 p.m. hour of SportsCenter on Friday, June 6.

Here are the first-round matchups, complete with seeding:

(1) Richard Sherman (CB, Seattle Seahawks)


(8) Alshon Jeffery (WR, Chicago Bears)

(1) Cam Newton (QB, Carolina Panthers)


(8) Antonio Brown (WR, Pittsburgh Steelers)

(2) Colin Kaepernick (QB, San Francisco 49ers)


(7) Nick Foles (QB, Philadelphia Eagles)

(2) Andrew Luck (QB, Indianapolis Colts)


(7) Alfred Morris (RB, Washington Redskins)

(3) Demaryius Thomas (WR, Denver Broncos)


(6) Luke Kuechly (LB, Carolina Panthers)

(3) LeSean McCoy (RB, Philadelphia Eagles)


(6) T.Y. Hilton (WR, Indianapolis Colts)

(4) Jimmy Graham (TE, New Orleans Saints)


(5) Eddie Lacy (RB, Green Bay Packers)

(4) Jamaal Charles (RB, Kansas City Chiefs)


(5) A.J. Green (WR, Cincinnati Bengals)