Mario Vargas Lopez Wins the Living Legend Award

By Maryann Yin Comment

library of congress logoThe Library of Congress has named Mario Vargas Llosa as the newest winner of the Living Legend Award. The Nobel Laureate, who hails from Peru, has become particularly well-known for his novels such as The Time of the Hero (1963), Conversation in the Cathedral (1969), and Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (1977).

According to the press release, “the Living Legend Award honors those who have made significant contributions to America’s diverse cultural, scientific and social heritage.” Some of the past recipients of this award include Beverly Cleary, Judy Blume, and Toni Morrison.

A ceremony will take place inside the Coolidge Auditorium on April 11. This event will be open to the public and free of charge; RSVP is required.