Station to Air Every Inauguration from Kennedy to Obama

By Kevin Eck 

DECADES has a plan to help you prepare for the inauguration of our 45th (note – TVSpy put 35th as a placeholder and was going to check, then forgot about it until I was gently reminded it was still there — my apologies) 45th president Donald Trump.

On Thursday, January 19 at 7 a.m. until Saturday, January 21 at 10 p.m., the network, owned by Weigel Broadcasting and CBS Television Stations, will air the inauguration speeches of the last 14 presidents, beginning with President Kennedy in 1961 and continuing with each successive President in sequence after a half-hour special.

“I’ve covered about four in one capacity or another,” show host Bill Kurtis told TVSpy. “Nixon’s was the most memorable. The turmoil of 1968 spilled over to the inauguration. About 235 members of Congress ‘boycotted” or didn’t show up for the actual ceremony. Nixon wanted to get out of the limo but couldn’t because of the protestors.”

The network is using the CBS News Archives to show the televised speeches from Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, Reagan, Bush, Clinton, Bush and Obama just as they happened on Inauguration Day.

“Why watch?” said Kurtis. “It’s the ritualistic transfer of power in the most powerful country in history. And with all that has happened, it is peaceful. That deserves watching.”

Click here to see where you can watch.

Here’s a look at the show’s promo: