Nexstar Makes Changes to Executive Leadership

By Kevin Eck 

After yesterday’s closing on its acquisition of Media General, Nexstar Broadcasting Group and Nexstar Media Group made changes to its leadership team.

Nexstar Broadcasting Group has named Timothy Busch president of Nexstar Broadcasting. He goes from overseeing Nexstar’s stations east of the Mississippi River to overseeing all facets of Nexstar’s local media operations.

Busch started with Nexstar as vp and GM of WROC in Rochester, N.Y. before being named svp and regional manager of Nexstar’s Eastern Region in 2002.

EVP and co-COO Brian Jones will be evp and COO of Nexstar Broadcasting. He joined Nexstar in 2003 as svp and regional manager of the Southwest Region.

Nexstar Media Group has promoted Elizabeth Ryder to evp and General Counsel. She has been the svp and General Counsel of Nexstar Broadcasting Group since 2009.

Media General’s vp and CTO Brett Jenkins will become the CTO of Nexstar Media Group. Jenkins was CTO at Media General from 2014 to 2016 and LIN Media from 2011 to 2014.

Nexstar Broadcasting has also promoted Diane Kniowski, Doug Davis and Mike Vaughn to svp and regional manager of its 171 stations.

The three will work across the station group to “administer policies and procedures to improve operating efficiencies and the effectiveness and service of the Company‚Äôs operations,” according to Nexstar. “Additionally, they will be responsible for executing and monitoring action plans aimed at achieving corporate and regional business objectives and financial goals.” The three report to Timothy Busch, president of Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. starting immediately.

Kniowski will oversee stations in Michigan, Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota. Davis oversees Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island and Vaughn will oversee the stations in Arkansas, Louisiana, Missouri and Tennessee.