KNTV Wins Three SPJ Sigma Delta Chi Awards

By Merrill Knox 

spj logoThe Society of Professional Journalists has announced the winners of this year’s Sigma Delta Chi Awards for exceptional professional journalism. Topping the list of local stations is KNTV, the NBC-owned station in San Francisco, which took home three awards.

KNTV won in the breaking news category for coverage of the Asiana Flight 214 crash at San Francisco airport and for feature reporting for a piece called “Bay Area Proud.” The station also won in the public service for television journalism category for a report called “The Gift of Time: Exposing a District Attorney’s Secret Perk for his Appointees.”

KWTX in Waco, WFTS in Tampa, WVUE in New Orleans, KBMT-KJAC in Beaumont, Texas, KUSA in Denver, KHQ in Spokane and WKBT in La Crosse, Wisc., won one award each. See the full list of winning reports after the jump.


Breaking News Coverage (Large-Market Station: 1-50 market)
Asiana Flight 214 Crash and Investigative Details — The NBC Bay Area News Staff
NBC Bay Area

Breaking News Coverage (Small-Market Station: 50+ market)
West, Texas Fertilizer Plant Explosion — Staff

Investigative Reporting (Large-Market Station: 1-50 market)
Incapacitated: Florida’s Guardianship Program — Adam Walser, Fran Gilpin, Randy Wright & Doug Iten

Investigative Reporting (Small-Market Station: 50+ market)
Body of Evidence — Lee Zurik, Donny Pearce,Jon Turnipseed & Greg Phillips

Feature Reporting (Large-Market Station: 1-50 market)
Bay Area Proud — Garvin Thomas
NBC Bay Area

Feature Reporting (Small-Market Station: 50+ market)
Asher’s Story — Mary Sturgill, Patrick Owens, Vanessa Holmes & Chase Conner

Documentaries (Large-Market Station: 1-50 market)
After Aurora — Chris Vanderveen, Chris Hansen, John Kuhrt & Blair Shiff

Documentaries (Small-Market Station: 50+ market)
The Climb For Closure — Alex Rozier, Gabe Ferguson & Jordan Caskey
KHQ Local News

Public Service in Television Journalism (Large-Market Station: 1-50 market)
The Gift of Time: Exposing a District Attorney’s Secret Perk for his Appointees — Jenna Susko, Julie Putnam, Jeremy Carroll & Matt Goldberg
NBC Bay Area

Public Service in Television Journalism (Small-Market Station: 50+ market)
The Compassion Project — Jennifer Livingston, Mike Thompson, Anne Paape & News 8 News Team