2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners Announced

By Stephanie Tsoflias Siegel 

The 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow winners are in.

WBUR, the public radio station in Boston, took home the top honors this year with 12 wins in the large market radio division. The station took home the Overall Excellence and Excellence in Innovation award.

Among local television stations, KUSA, the Tegna owned station in Denver, CO and WTVR, the Tribune owned station in Richmond, VA took the lead in their individual divisions. Both stations received nine awards each.


The KUSA show, Next with Kyle Clark, won the Excellence in Innovation award.

WTVR took home the best in feature reporting award for it’s feature on a man who is on a search for his father’s military locker.

There were 38 Excellence in Innovation winners across all categories this year. This category features local broadcasters adapting to changing technology and audiences.

Some of those winners include 360 degree video pieces from KTVB, KCRA and WTVR. The fact-checking project Verify from Tegna and WFAA, KSL in Digital Radio and Next with Kyle Clark, as mentioned above, also won.

“Each year RTDNA is proud to honor the very best in broadcast and digital journalism through the Edward R. Murrow Awards and, by extension, highlight to the public why outstanding responsible journalism is essential to their daily lives,” said Dan Shelley, RTDNA executive director.

You can see a full list of winners here.