Where to Watch the First Clinton-Trump Debate

By Mark Joyella 

Monday night’s presidential debate between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump is expected to attract a huge audience–and viewers will have plenty of options when it comes to watching the first face-to-face clash between Clinton and Trump.

Here’s how the networks are covering the debate, along with pre and post-game coverage plans:

ABC News: Chief anchor George Stephanopoulos will lead ABC’s coverage from New York, beginning at 9 p.m. ET. He will be joined at ABC News election headquarters and at the debate site, Hofstra University, with World News Tonight anchor David Muir, This Week co-anchor Martha Raddatz, Nightline anchor Byron Pitts, and correspondents Jonathan Karl, Cecilia Vega, and Tom Llamas.


ABC coverage runs from 9-11 p.m., followed by a full debate re-cap on Nightline at 12:35 a.m. ET.

ABC News Digital will stream coverage on Facebook and ABC’s digital properties, and include coverage, commentary, and questions from viewers. Matthew Dowd and LZ Granderson kick off evening coverage followed by anchored coverage from Dan Harris, Amna Nawaz and Granderson. ABC News’ livestreams will also be available on ABCNews.com as well as its apps on mobile and OTT.

CBS News/CBSN: CBS Evening News anchor Scott Pelley and Face the Nation host John Dickerson will lead CBS coverage, beginning at 9 p.m. ET. They will be joined by Bob Schieffer and CBS News correspondents Nancy Cordes and Major Garrett.

Pelley will anchor Monday night’s Evening News from Hofstra.

CBS’ streaming network, CBSN, which announced a partnership with Instagram for the debates, will incorporate Instagram Stories content produced by CBSN anchors and contributors Nancy Cordes, Vladimir Duthiers, Major Garrett, Reena Ninan, Will Rahn and Bob Schieffer in its pre-debate and post-debate coverage.

CBSN coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET, anchored by Josh Elliott, Vladimir Duthiers and Reena Ninan.

NBC News/MSNBC: With NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt serving as moderator of the first debate, NBC turns to Savannah Guthrie and Chuck Todd as lead anchors of NBC’s debate coverage from Hofstra University, with Tom Brokaw.

NBC coverage begins at 9 p.m. ET, and like ABC and CBS, runs through 11 p.m. ET. Guthrie anchors Nightly News from Hofstra at 6:30 p.m. ET.

Rachel Maddow, Brian Williams, and Chris Matthews lead coverage before and after the debate on MSNBC, which will broadcast from the debate site all day Monday.

MSNBC’s prime coverage begins at 7 p.m. ET, and runs through 2 a.m. ET., with Peter Alexander, Kasie Hunt, Hallie Jackson, Chris Jansing, Steve Kornacki, Craig Melvin, Andrea Mitchell, Kelly O’Donnell, Thomas Roberts, Stephanie Ruhle, Kate Snow, Katy Tur, and Kristen Welker.

NBC will stream the debate on its digital properties, including the NBC News YouTube channel.

PBS: PBS NewsHour and Microsoft have created WatchTheDebates.org, an interactive site that provides access to every general election debate since 1960. Users can track issues, and interact with the content online. The project was produced in partnership with the Commission on Presidential Debates.

PBS NewsHour will carry the debate live, followed by 30 minutes of analysis (9-11 p.m. ET). NewsHour’s special coverage will be co-anchored by Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff, with David Brooks, Mark Shields, and Amy Walter in studio and NewsHour correspondent John Yang on location.

NewsHour’s special will stream on Facebook, Youtube, and Ustream.

Bloomberg: Bloomberg TV’s coverage begins at 8:30 p.m. ET with a pre-debate show led by Bloomberg Politics managing editors Mark Halperin and John Heilemann. After the debate, Halperin and Heilemann will lead a post-debate show featuring commentary and analysis by Bloomberg Politics talent, contributors and guests, running from 10:30 to 11 p.m. ET.

Through a partnership announced last week, Bloomberg’s coverage will stream on Twitter at debates.twitter.com, in Twitter Moments, and on @bpolitics. Coverage will also stream at Bloomberg’s website.

CNN: As it has been since Saturday, CNN will be live from Hofstra all day Monday. Special coverage, Debate Night in America, begins at 7 p.m. ET, and continues after the debate through 1 a.m. ET.

CNN says it will have more than 30 anchors, correspondents, analysts and commentators at the debate site, with Dana Bash, Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper and Jake Tapper leading coverage. Erin Burnett will report from inside the debate spin room.

New Day, CNN Newsroom, Inside Politics, Wolf, The Lead with Jake Tapper and The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer will all be live Monday from Hofstra University.

CNN en Español will have senior political anchor Juan Carlos Lopez in Atlanta, with correspondents Maria Santana and Yilber Vega at Hofstra.

CNBC: John Harwood and Michelle Caruso-Cabrera will report for CNBC’s Business Day programming from Hofstra Monday, with Your Money, Your Vote: Presidential Debate airing live on the network starting at 9 p.m. ET. Carl Quintanilla and Kelly Evans will anchor from the NASDAQ in New York, with reporting from Harwood and Caruso-Cabrera at the debate.

CNBC will also live-stream the debate on CNBC.com.

C-SPAN: Starting at 7:30 p.m. ET, C-SPAN will focus on the format, rules and questions in the upcoming debate; at 8:30, C-SPAN will carry remarks from the Commission on Presidential Debates, Hofstra’s university president, and Lester Holt, the debate moderator, from inside the debate hall.

C-SPAN’s debate coverage will include split-screen coverage showing both candidates throughout the debate. Coverage after the debate runs through 1 a.m. ET, including calls from viewers, reaction from inside the debate spin room, and a full re-air of the debate beginning at 11:30 p.m. ET.

Fox News: Bret Baier and Megyn Kelly will lead FNC’s debate coverage from the debate hall beginning at 9 p.m. ET, joined by a team of correspondents and commentators including Brit Hume, Dana Perino, Juan Williams and Tucker Carlson.

FNC’s Special Report (6 p.m. ET), On the Record (7 p.m. ET), O’Reilly Factor (8 p.m. ET), Kelly File (11 p.m. ET), and a two-hour Hannity (12-2 a.m. ET) will all originate from Hofstra.

The debate will also livestream on FoxNews.com without authentication.

Fox Business: FBN’s Neil Cavuto will anchor prime coverage from Hofstra beginning at 8 p.m. ET, with a special edition of Cavuto: Coast to Coast running through 1 a.m. ET. Cavuto will be joined by Lou Dobbs, Charlie Gasparino, Trish Regan and Kennedy. Additional reporting will come from FBN’s Connell McShane, Blake Burman, and Peter Barnes.

Lou Dobbs will anchor Lou Dobbs Tonight from Hofstra at 7 p.m. ET.

Fusion: At Fusion, they’re calling it Trump vs. Clinton, Round 1, and the network’s coverage kicks off on Twitter and Facebook at 8:50 p.m. ET, followed on TV at 9 p.m. Jorge Ramos will provide insights to a team that includes Nando Vila and Fusion correspondents and contributors, including Miriti Murungi, Nelufar Hedayat, and Katie Halper.

YahooKatie Couric is hosting a live show beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET. She’ll be joined by Matt BaiMichael IsikoffJamal SimmonsAlice StewartDr. Gail SaltzRick Newman and Bianna Golodryga will be live from the spin room at Hofstra. Yahoo’s coverage will stream live on Facebook and be available via the Yahoo apps on Roku, Apple TV, Amazon Fire TV and Xbox 360.