Washington Post Reporters Said the Charlie Rose Sexual Misconduct Story Was 7 Years in the Making

By A.J. Katz 

Washington Post investigative reporters Irin Carmon and Amy Brittain were honored today at the 12th annual Newhouse School Syracuse University Mirror Awards in New York for their reporting on years of sexual misconduct perpetrated by Charlie Rose.

Their story, published November 20 2017, was titled: Eight women say Charlie Rose sexually harassed them – with nudity, groping and lewd calls; it eventually got Rose fired from PBS, CBS News and got him blackballed from the entertainment industry for the foreseeable future.

In her acceptance remarks, Carmon said working on the story was an extremely long, arduous and difficult process. “It took 7 years, from the time that I found about Charlie Rose until my story was published,” said Carmon. “So the larger story about how this behavior persists in our industry will also take time, but if we’re going to earn the trust of our readers and viewers, we have to tell the truth about ourselves, and I know there are a lot of people in this room who are committed to that journalism.”


The John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting honored journalists committed to the work Carmon had mentioned. This year, the Higgins award had co-winners, similar to what transpired with the Pulitzers. Ronan Farrow‘s countless investigations into exposing Harvey Weinstein‘s years of sexual misconduct for the New Yorker, and New York Times’s reporting on the subject from Jodi Kantor, Meghan Twohey, Rachel Abrams, Ellen Gabler, Susan Dominus, Jim Rutenberg and Steve Eder were honored by the Mirrors.

Farrow was not able to accept his award in person (apparently he’s on vacation) and Rutenberg was among those who accepted on behalf of the Times.

60 Minutes received the Special Recognition honor by the Mirrors for “50 years of excellence in broadcast journalism.”

60 Minutes executive producer Jeff Fager, who appears to be on an awards hot streak lately, was on hand to accept the honor.

NPR won the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence.

Former HBO exec Sheila Nevins was honored with the Fred Dressler Leadership award this year. Nevins was the executive producer and former president of HBO documentary films and family for HBO. As an entertainment executive, she has received 32 Primetime Emmy Awards, 35 News and Documentary Emmys and 42 Peabody Awards. During her tenure, HBO’s critically acclaimed documentaries won 26 Academy Awards.

Fusion anchor and correspondent Kimberly Brooks emceed this year’s event.

NBC News’s Tom Brokaw received the Dressler award at last year’s Mirror Awards, and was joined by NBC News chairman Andy Lack, Megyn Kelly, Jenna Bush Hager, and many others.

Additional 2018 Mirror Awards winners:

  • Best Story on Fake News: Amanda Robb / Pizzagate: A Slice of Fake News
  • Best Single Article/Story: Jim Rutenberg / RT, Sputnik & Russia’s New Theory of Wars / New York Times Magazine
  • Best Profile: Lois Parchley / Editor in Exile / Pacific Standard
  • Best Commentary: Jack Shafer and Tucker Doherty / The Media Bubble Is Worse Than You Think / Politico