TV Newsers, Celebrities, Lawmakers Congratulate Chris Matthews on 20 Years of Hardball

By A.J. Katz 

Tonight, Chris Matthews is celebrating 20 years of Hardball on MSNBC, making it the longest-running program on the network.

Celebrity fans of the show including Ben Stiller, Debra Messing, Woody Harrelson, Michael Moore congratulated Matthews on celebrating the 20 year anniversary this week.


And a kind message from CBS Evening News anchor Norah O’Donnell, who was at CNBC with Matthews almost 20 years ago when Hardball launched: “Thank you for your friendship, thank you for all the tips, and congratulations. So well deserved.”

MSNBC hosts Nicolle Wallace of Deadline: White House and Brian Williams of The 11th Hour also congratulated their colleague yesterday.


Earlier in the week, the longtime MSNBC newser received congratulations messages from Bill Maher, “I’m honored to call you a friend, and there’s no one I’d rather get talked over in a three-second satellite lag,” he quipped.

Here are his colleagues at NBC News including Lester Holt, Andrea Mitchell and Kristen Welker,

And some kind words from various D.C. lawmakers who have appeared on the program over the years: A trio of Democratic senators from New England, Sen. Chris Murphy (CT), Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (RI), and Sen. Ed Markey (MA), as well as Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA).



Hardball also took a walk down memory lane, including two decades of sit-down interviews with commanders-in-chief: Pres. Donald Trump, Pres. Barack Obama, Pres. George W. Bush, Pres. Bill Clinton, Pres. Jimmy Carter and Pres. Gerald Ford.


Here’s a separate message from Pres. Carter and Rosalynn Carter.

Matthews also received congratulations from the Morning Joe trio of Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski, Willie Geist, Mike Barnicle.

Brzezinski has often said Hardball is one of her favorite shows. “I love the open,” she added earlier this week. “I’m obsessed!”

Chris Hayes and Chuck Todd:


Also, Hardball also has a #Hardball20Sweepstakes where followers of the show have a chance to win exclusive gear from the show. Winners will be announced on tonight’s broadcast by Matthews.