TV Milestones: ‘MTP,’ Bloomberg, CNN

By Brian Flood 

  • “Meet the Press” is celebrating its 67th birthday today. The longest-running program on TV debuted on Nov. 6, 1947 hosted by Martha Rountree. There have been 11 moderators in that time (12 if you count Tom Brokaw who filled in after the death of Tim Russert in 2008).

  • Bloomberg Media was honored last night as the “Most Innovative Publisher of the Year” by Digiday. The award recognizes overall excellence and breakthrough achievement. “The media group has accelerated its efforts to build out a multiplatform media empire,” Digiday says.

  • CNN celebrated three wins at the 2014 International Broadcasting awards last night in London. CNN won best “Live Television Journalism” for coverage of Malaysia Airlines Flight 17; best “Short News Report” and Richard Quest was named “TV Personality of the Year.”

CNN Quest Evans Black AIBs