Pierre Thomas to Host RTDNF First Amendment Awards

By Mark Joyella 

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation has named ABC’s Pierre Thomas host of the 2016 First Amendment Awards, which will honor journalists including Jason Rezaian.

“Pierre Thomas delighted the audience when he accepted our Association’s John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award last fall,” said Amy Tardif, RTDNF chair. “We will be thrilled to have him back at the podium to serve as our master of ceremonies this spring, as we honor our award recipients and support the Foundation’s work for the First Amendment.”

Rezaian, the Washington Post reporter released from an Iranian prison this week after 17 months, will receive the First Amendment Award.


NBC’s Tom Brokaw will receive the RTDNF Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Supporting and defending the First Amendment requires bravery, integrity and perseverance,” said Tardiff last year when the honorees were first announced. “(They) have demonstrated their commitment to press freedom, and their words and actions inspire us to follow their lead.”