Networks Plan Special Coverage as Voters Head to the Polls in Florida

By Merrill Knox 

Primary season continues as voters head to the polls in Florida today, and the broadcast and cable networks have scheduled special coverage for the election results tonight.

CNN’s coverage, hosted by Wolf Blitzer, Anderson Cooper, Erin Burnett and John King, kicks off at 7pmET. Cooper will host a live “AC360” at 10pmET, followed by a live “Piers Morgan Tonight” at midnight.

On MSNBC, Rachel Maddow will anchor coverage beginning at 6pmET. She will be joined by Chris Matthews, who will host “Hardball” from Miami today, Al Sharpton, Ed Schultz and Lawrence O’Donnell.


Megyn Kelly and Bret Baier are at the anchor desk on Fox News from 8-11pmET. Sean Hannity takes over at 11pm, followed by a live “On the Record with Greta Van Susteren” at midnight.

The broadcast networks will offer special reports as the results come in. Brian Williams will anchor on NBC. Scott Pelley will anchor from Florida on CBS. On ABC, Diane Sawyer and George Stephanopoulos will anchor special reports together. On PBS, “NewsHour” will broadcast a live primary special at 11pmET, co-anchored by Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff.

Elsewhere on cable:

Neil Cavuto will anchor coverage on FBN beginning at 7:55pmET. Bloomberg TV’s Trish Regan will anchor a two-hour special that begins at 7pmET. On CNBC, Washington reporter Eamon Javers will provide live cut-ins from Florida as the primary results come in.

On Current TV, each hour of regularly-scheduled primetime coverage will feature reporting from David Shuster, who will be live from Florida. (Bill Press and Eliot Spitzer will be co-anchoring “Countdown,” since Keith Olbermann is has bronchitis.) Dan Rather will anchor HDNet’s coverage beginning at 7pmET.