NBC News Wins Big at Murrow Awards

By Alex Weprin 

The Radio Television Digital News Association has announced the winners of the 2010 Edward R. Murrow Awards.

Among the television news organizations NBC News was the big winner, taking home five awards, including the award for “overall excellence” in network television.

NBC also won for “best newscast,” as well as excellence in breaking news and hard news reporting, with MSNBC winning for excellence in writing.


CBS News received four awards, two of them for “60 Minutes” for excellence in the fields of feature reporting and investigative reporting. CBS also won for best “news documentary” and “news series.”

ABC News won one Murrow for excellence in “continuing coverage,” for its coverage of Iran’s election crisis.

CNN won a Murrow for for best web site, with ESPN taking home the award for sports reporting.

The full list of Murrow Award winners is here.