Lester Holt Named 2017 Fred Friendly Award Honoree

By Chris Ariens 

NBC’s Lester Holt will be honored by Quinnipiac University as its 24th Fred Friendly honoree. The award honors a broadcast journalist whose work “reflects the ideals of Fred Friendly, former president of CBS News and a strong advocate of freedom of speech and of the press.” The University has been presenting the award since 1994.

Holt will be honored at a luncheon June 19. Past honorees include:

2016: Charlie Rose
2015: Richard Engel and Bob Simon
2014: Barbara Walters
2013: Scott Pelley
2012: Martha Raddatz
2011: David Fanning
2010: Gwen Ifill
2009: Morley Safer
2008: Charlie Gibson
2007: Steve Kroft
2006: Bob Schieffer

Previous winners also include Dan Rather, Lesley Stahl, Ted Koppel, Tom Brokaw, Don Hewitt, Peter Jennings, Mike Wallace, Christiane Amanpour, Tim Russert, and Bob Schieffer.