Judy Woodruff & Gwen Ifill Receive 2017 Cronkite Award

By Chris Ariens 

Judy Woodruff and the late Gwen Ifill are the recipients of the 2017 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, ASU’s Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication announced this morning.

Woodruff, the anchor and managing editor of the PBS NewsHour, will receive the 34th annual award at a luncheon ceremony Oct. 19 in Phoenix. Woodruff also will accept the award on behalf of Ifill, who served with her as co-anchor and co-managing editor from 2013 until her death from cancer in November.

“I grew up watching Walter Cronkite, then was fortunate to get to know him a little: He represented the very best of our craft,” said Woodruff. “I’m humbled to receive this award in his name, along with my dear friend and longtime colleague, the late Gwen Ifill, who has left a legacy of excellence and dedication that touched all who knew her.”


Woodruff spoke at the John Chancellor Award for Excellence in Journalism which Ifill posthumously received last month.

Past recipients include Scott Pelley, Robin Roberts, Bob Costas, Tom Brokaw, Bill Moyers, Don Hewitt, George Will, and Bernard Shaw.