Jake Tapper Named RTDNA Award Winner

By Chris Ariens 

CNN’s Jake Tapper is the 2017 John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award winner. The award, presented by the RTDNA, “recognizes an individual’s contributions to the journalism profession and freedom of the press.”

“When it comes to political reporting in today’s tumultuous times, Jake Tapper has become a fixture,” said Vincent Duffy, RTDNA Chairman. “He pulls no punches and pushes politicians from all sides to get to the core of the issues facing this country.”

The award will be presented at the RTDNA annual conference Friday, September 8 in Anaheim. Named for the founder and first president of RTDNA, the John F. Hogan Distinguished Service Award was established in 1959. Past recipients include Jorge Ramos, Christopher Glenn, Hugh Downs, and Walter Cronkite.


Tapper’s The Lead is also nominated for A TCA award, which will be announced in August.