Inauguration 2013: MSNBC Coverage Plans

By Merrill Knox 

MSNBC’s coverage of President Obama’s second inauguration kicks off on Sunday with “Up with Chris Hayes” and “Melissa Harris-Perry,” both of which will be live from Washington, DC. Chuck Todd anchors coverage of the private swearing-in ceremony at 11:50amET; Alex Witt will take over at 12:30pmET.

On Monday, “Morning Joe” will broadcast from The Dubliner from 5:30-10amET. Rachel Maddow, Chris Matthews, Lawrence O’Donnell, Ed Schultz and Al Sharpton will anchor from 10am-4pmET. The anchors will host their respective primetime shows from D.C.

More from MSNBC after the jump.


Live Inauguration Day Coverage Hosted by Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews
“Morning Joe” Live From The Dubliner – Jan. 21 and 22

NEW YORK – January 16, 2013 – MSNBC will present continuing coverage of The Second Inauguration of Barack Obama from Sunday, January 20 through Tuesday, January 22.Sunday, January 20:

“Up w/ Chris Hayes” (8:00 – 10:00 a.m. ET) and “Melissa Harris-Perry” (10:00 a.m. – noon) will originate from Washington, DC.

NBC News Chief White House Correspondent and host of MSNBC’s “The Daily Rundown” will anchor coverage of the private swearing in of the President beginning at 11:50 a.m. ET. Alex Witt picks up with “Weekends with Alex Witt” beginning at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Monday, January 21:

“Way Too Early” and an extended “Morning Joe” will be live from The Dubliner from 5:30-10:00 a.m. ET, with hosts Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski and Willie Geist. Guests will include former Secretary of State Colin Powell, Sen. Tim Kaine, David Axelrod, Maureen Dowd, Mike Barnicle, Michael Steele and Alex Wagner. The broadcast is open to the public. More information can be found here:

MSNBC Inauguration Day coverage will continue live from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. ET hosted by Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews with Lawrence O’Donnell, Ed Schultz and Rev. Al Sharpton from Washington, DC.

Contributors will include Melissa Harris-Perry, Chris Hayes, Joy-Ann Reid, Telemundo’s Jose Diaz-Balart, Steve Schmidt, Ed Rendell, Howard Fineman, Michael Steele, Jon Meacham, Jonathan Alter, Michael Eric Dyson, and Maria Teresa Kumar among others. Correspondents will include Chuck Todd from the White House and the White House parade reviewing stand; Andrea Mitchell and Luke Russert from the Capitol; Alex Witt, Tamron Hall, and Chris Jansing from the Pennsylvania Avenue parade route; and Peter Alexander and Kristen Welker from the White House.

MSNBC’s regularly scheduled programing picks up at 4 p.m. ET with “Martin Bashir” and continues through primetime, with hosts live from the nation’s capital.

Tuesday, January 22:

“Way Too Early” and “Morning Joe” will be live from The Dubliner from 5:30 a.m. – 9 a.m. EST, with hosts Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski and Willie Geist. The broadcast is open to the public.

MSNBC Digital:

MSNBC online (, facebook/msnbc, will be the digital companion to MSNBC TV on Inauguration Day. Follow @msnbc and use #msnbc for updates and news throughout Inauguration Day. Viewers will be encouraged to contribute their Inauguration photos and reactions via twitter and facebook.