Inauguration 2013: C-SPAN Coverage Plans

By Merrill Knox 

C-SPAN will devote much of its weekend programming to President Obama’s second inauguration. On Sunday, C-SPAN’s coverage begins  at 10:30amET. Following a look back at Obama’s 2009 inauguration, the network will host a discussion about inaugural addresses with former Presidential speechwriters.

On Monday, C-SPAN will be live beginning at 7amET with coverage of the inaugural ceremony, luncheon and parade.

More from C-SPAN after the jump.

Friday Night at 8pm ET on C-SPAN:  Presidential Inaugurations of the Past 60 Years: From Harry Truman’s 1949 inaugural to President George W. Bush’s swearing-in and speech from 2001, we’ll see and hear the presidents of the last 60 years on the day they officially took office.

Here’s the lineup :

8pm  1981 – Ronald Reagan

8:25pm  1993 – Bill Clinton

8:45pm  1957 – Dwight Eisenhower

9pm  1949- Harry Truman

9:20pm  1969 – Richard Nixon

9:40pm  1961- John F. Kennedy

10pm  1989 – George H. W. Bush

10:25pm  1965 – Lyndon Johnson

10:40pm  1977 – Jimmy Carter

11pm  2001 – George W. Bush

Sunday, January 20 LIVE starting at 10:30am ET

C-SPAN, C-SPAN Radio &

This Sunday, President Obama will officially be sworn into office in a private ceremony at the White House for a second term. With January 20 falling on a Sunday, the President will also be sworn in, in a public inauguration ceremony at the U.S. Capitol on Monday. This is the seventh time in U.S. history that the constitutionally mandated Inauguration date has fallen on a Sunday.  The last time was for President Ronald Reagan’s second Inauguration in 1985.

Our coverage of his 57th Presidential Inauguration begins Sunday at 10:30am ET with a look back at the President’s 2009 Inaugural Address. Followed by a discussion with former presidential speechwriters about this year’s address and how past inaugural addresses have been crafted. Guests will include Terry Edmonds, former director of speechwriting for President Clinton & John McConnell, former speechwriter for G.W. Bush. Then, live coverage of the President’s official swearing in by Chief Justice John Roberts.

Monday, January 21

57th Presidential Inauguration

LIVE at 7am ET

C-SPAN, C-SPAN Radio &

On Monday, January 21st, Barack Obama will be sworn-in for a second term as the nation’s 44th President.  Live coverage of the 57th presidential inauguration begins at 7am et on C-SPAN. Events will include:

  • Gavel-to-gavel coverage of the inaugural ceremony from the West Front of the U.S. Capitol at 11:30am. Includes the swearing-in of Vice President Biden by Supreme Court Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor, then President Obama by Chief Justice John Roberts at noon, followed by the President’s address
  • Later, the Inaugural Luncheon from inside Statuary Hall at the Capitol
  • And, the Inaugural Parade along Pennsylvania Avenue from the Capitol to the White House

Viewers can also join in the conversation by phone and on Facebook at as well as on Twitter at #inaug2013.