Hurricane Michael Has Made Landfall in Florida as a Category 4

By A.J. Katz Comment

It’s getting bad down there. At 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT, Hurricane Michael has made landfall near Mexico Beach, Fla as a Category 4 hurricane with max wind speeds of 155 mph, and moving north northeast at 14 mph.

A Cat 5 hurricane has 156 mph winds…

The hurricane is set to crash into Panama City Beach head on during the 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT hour, and according to to the National Hurricane Center, there’s “life-threatening storm surge…hurricane force winds…and heavy rainfall occurring over the Florida panhandle” right now.

ABC News chief meteorologist Ginger Zee and her crew appear to be OK.

 

Thousands of Floridians are without power:

 


The Weather Channel’s Jen Carfagno is in Tallahassee.

NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt and his crew are lifting a hotel room mattress to cover their window:

CBS Evening News anchor Jeff Glor filed a CBS News special report in Panama City Beach last hour:

 

 

Comments

Advertisement
Advertisement