Here Are NBCUniversal News Group’s Election Night Coverage Plans

By A.J. Katz 

NBCUniversal News Group will deliver full special coverage and analysis of the midterm elections with Decision 2022 across NBC News, MSNBC, CNBC, Noticias Telemundo, streaming platforms NBC News Now and Peacock.

NBC News

NBC News’ core four team of Today co-anchor Savannah Guthrie, Meet the Press moderator Chuck Todd, NBC Nightly News anchor Lester Holt and NBC News chief foreign affairs correspondent/ chief Washington correspondent Andrea Mitchell will anchor rolling coverage of the 2022 midterms from New York beginning at 8 p.m. ET. on Tuesday, November 8.


The aforementioned quartet will be joined by NBC News senior national correspondent and NBC News Now anchor Tom Llamas and NBC News senior Washington correspondent Hallie Jackson. Chief White House correspondents Peter Alexander and Kristen Welker will join from the White House reporting on the Biden administration’s reaction to the results.


Starting at 6 p.m. ET, Rachel Maddow, Nicolle Wallace and Joy Reid will lead MSNBC’s Decision 2022 election coverage. They will be joined by Chris Hayes, Alex Wagner, Lawrence O’Donnell, Ari Melber and Stephanie Ruhle.

NBC News and MSNBC national political correspondent Steve Kornacki will be at the Big Board throughout the night to break down the latest polling, patterns and exit polls as the votes are tallied. Viewers can keep up with Kornacki and the behind-the-scenes action all night with the return of the Kornacki Cam streaming at, @MSNBC on Twitter and on-air.

MSNBC anchors will turn to The Insiders, a panel of experts who will provide analysis and real-time reporting as the night unfolds. The panel includes former White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki, former chief spokesperson and senior advisor to Vice President Harris and MSNBC host Symone Sanders Townsend, former Sen. Claire McCaskill, former White House senior advisor and Obama campaign manager David Plouffe, former RNC chairman Michael Steele and former Republican Congressman Carlos Curbelo.

MSNBC’s special election coverage will continue live into the early morning hours anchored by Ali Velshi, Jonathan Capehart, Alicia Menendez and Ayman Mohyeldin at 2 a.m. ET.

On Wednesday, Nov. 9, Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski and Willie Geist will host a special live Morning Joe from Studio 6A in 30 Rock to provide in-depth analysis and reaction to the 2022 midterm elections.

Special coverage will continue on MSNBC Reports with José Díaz-Balart and Chris Jansing at 10 a.m. and Andrea Mitchell, Katy Tur and Hallie Jackson at 12 p.m. ET.

NBC News Now

NBC News Now’s Decision 2022 coverage kicks off at 6 p.m. ET on Tuesday, Nov. 8, with special coverage hosted by NBC News Now anchor and senior Washington correspondent Hallie Jackson and NBC News Now anchor and senior national correspondent Tom Llamas. NBC News Now’s coverage continues with a simulcast of NBC News’ Decision 2022 election special at 8 p.m. ET.


CNBC’s The News with Shepard Smith at 7 p.m. ET will cover the midterms with reporters in key states across the country, election results and expert analysis throughout the hour.

CNBC’s Washington team, Kayla Tausche, Eamon Javers and Ylan Mui, will provide coverage throughout CNBC’s Business Day programming.

CNBC will air a special, Business on the Ballot, at 8 p.m. ET, anchored by the Squawk Box team– Becky Quick, Joe Kernen and Andrew Ross Sorkin– which will focus on the elections’ potential impact on American businesses and investors. The one-hour program will cover the key economic issues facing voters with critical insights from CEOs, policymakers and market pros.


Beginning at 9 p.m. ET, Julio Vaqueiro, joined by Aranxta Loizaga, will anchor Noticias Telemundo’s continuous election coverage from Miami through at least 3 a.m. ET. They will be joined by anchors Vanessa Hauc, Johana Suárez, Nacho Lozano and José Díaz-Balart and a team of correspondents, reporters, analysts and contributors bringing the latest news and analysis.

Washington correspondent Javier Vega will manage Noticias Telemundo’s Big Board, breaking down the latest results.


Peacock will livestream MSNBC’s live election coverage from Tuesday, Nov. 8 at 4 p.m. ET to Wednesday, Nov. 9 at 5 a.m ET. Peacock subscribers can also view NBC News’ live election coverage from Tuesday, Nov. 8 at 8 p.m. ET to Wednesday, Nov. 9 at 3 a.m. ET.


Additionally, more than 40 NBC News and MSNBC correspondents and reporters will be dispatched across the U.S., reporting from key battleground states.

  • From the White House: Kristen Welker, Peter Alexander, Mike Memoli and Monica Alba
  • Reporting from Washington D.C.: Ken Dilanian, Garrett Haake, Allie Raffa and Scott Wong
  • Arizona: Vaughn Hillyard, Miguel Almaguer and Alicia Lozano
  • California: Jake Ward
  • Florida: Ali Vitali and Kerry Sanders
  • Georgia: Blayne Alexander, Ellison Barber, Gabe Gutierrez, Sahil Kapur, Marc Caputo and Trymaine Lee
  • Michigan: Yamiche Alcindor 
  • Nevada: Guad Venegas, Jacob Soboroff, and Natasha Korecki
  • New Hampshire: Kristen Dahlgren
  • North Carolina: Antonia Hylton
  • Ohio: Jesse Kirsch and Henry Gomez
  • Pennsylvania: Dasha Burns, Stephanie Gosk, Rehema Ellis, Maura Barrett, Allan Smith and Lauren Egan
  • Texas: Priscilla Thompson and Suzanne Gamboa 
  • Utah: Ryan Nobles
  • Virginia: Tom Costello
  • Wisconsin: Shaq Brewster and Shannon Pettypiece