ESPN Wins Big At 2011 Sports Business Awards

By Marcus Vanderberg 

The 2011 Sports Business Awards were held Wednesday night in New York City and ESPN was the bigger winner with three awards.

ESPN/ABC Sports president George Bodenheimer was named Sports Executive of the Year and the network also took home awards for Best In Sports Media and Best in Sports Television.

The awards, which recognize excellence and outstanding achievement in the sports industry for the period from March 1, 2010 through February 28, 2011, were presented by Street & Smith’s SportsBusiness Journal and SportsBusiness Daily, the two leading publications on the business of sports.


“We are pleased to honor the visionaries who are driving the sports industry with our fourth annual Sports Business Awards,” says Richard Weiss, publisher of the SportsBusiness Journal and SportsBusiness Daily. “The winners and nominees being honored tonight are pushing innovation with smart thinking and creative approaches.”

Below are the complete list of winners:

Lifetime Achievement – Billie Jean King
Sports Executive of the Year – George Bodenheimer, President, ESPN/ABC Sports
Athletic Director of the Year – DeLoss Dodds, University of Texas
Professional Sports Team of the Year – San Francisco Giants
Professional Sports League of the Year – National Hockey League
Sports Event of the Year – 2010 New York City Marathon
Best in Sports Media – ESPN
Best in Sports Television – ESPN Networks
Best in Digital Sports Media – Turner Sports
Best in Talent Representation and Management – CAA Sports
Best in Corporate Consulting, Marketing and Client Services – GMR Marketing
Best in Property Consulting, Sales and Client Services – AEG Global Partnerships
Best in Sports Event and Experiential Marketing – The Marketing Arm
Sports Sponsor of the Year – Subway
Sports Facility of the Year – Target Field
Best in Sports Technology – Daktronics