Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

By Brian 

The 2005 Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) 2005 Edward R. Murrow Awards were announced today. Here is the full list. For the third consecutive year, CBS News received an award for overall excellence; and for the second consecutive year, World News Tonight with Peter Jennings was recognized with the best newscast award. TV Week notes that with four awards, NBC News led its division. Other highlights:

> Continuing coverage: CBS News, The Early Show, Beslan Hostage Tragedy: Elizabeth Palmer

> Investigative reporting: Dateline NBC / NBC News, “A Pattern of Suspicion”

> News series: NBC Nightly News, “The Predator and Hunt for Bin Laden”

> Overall Excellence, radio network: ABC News Radio

> Sports Reporting: NBC News Today, “39-Year-Old College Football Player”

> Videography: Dateline NBC / NBC News, “Desperate Days in Blue John Canyon”

> Writing: CNN, Candy Crowley – 2004 Presidential Election

> Update: 2:20pm: CBS’s press release says: “CBS News was honored with a total of seven [awards] for excellence in electronic journalism, both television and radio, more than any other news organization.”