David Muir Honored by the New York State Broadcasters Association

By A.J. Katz 

ABC World News Tonight anchor David Muir was fêted by the New York State Broadcasters Association at its Leadership and Hall of Fame Luncheon last Thursday.

Muir received the NYSBA’s 2018 Broadcaster of the Year Award, joining ABC Newsers Barbara Walters (2007), Charlie Gibson (2010), and the late Peter Jennings (2005) as recipients of the honor.

“If we just remember who this newscast is for – it’s for the people across this country in a polarized time,” remarked Muir. “We have to find a way every single night to signal to them that we hear you… that we are doing this job for you. We are asking these questions for you. And I think that they sense that in their gut.”


World News Tonight is presently the No. 1 evening newscast in total viewers, and the No. 2 evening newscast in the key A25-54 demo.

In attendance from the ABC News side included ABC News President James Goldston, svp for talent and business Barbara Fedida, World News Tonight Executive producer Almin Karamehmedovic, 20/20 senior ep David Sloan, and svp for long form Beth Hoppe.

Past NYSBA Broadcaster of the Year Award winners include CBS This Morning co-host Norah O’Donnell (2014), former ABC Newser-turned-CNN host Bill Weir (2012), Brian Williams (2011), and the late Tim Russert in 1999.

The NYSBA represents the interests of over 300 TV and radio stations in the New York State Assembly, Congress, and various other legislative bodies.

Since 1955, the organization has fought many battles on behalf of broadcasters including opening New York’s courtrooms to broadcast television coverage, putting broadcasters on equal economic footing with newspapers, and defending the confidential sources of broadcast journalists.