CNN Receives DuPont For Tsunami Covg.

By Brian 

The Alfred I. DuPont-Columbia Awards, the broadcast equivalent of the Pulitzer Prizes, were announced yesterday. CNN received an award “for its distinguishing coverage of the South Asia tsunami disaster.” The network said “the judges cited CNN for its ability to provide in-depth reports about a major natural disaster while under considerable deadline and logistical pressures.” This is CNN’s 10th DuPont award.

Thirteen winners were chosen from a pool of 628 radio and TV news entries.

> Update: 3:48pm: The award will be presented to: “Entire news division of CNN; Christiane Amanpour, Satinder Bindra, Aaron Brown, Jason Carroll, Matthew Chance, Mike Chinoy, Anderson Cooper, Shiulie Ghosh, Stan Grant, Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Suhasini Haidar, Paula Hancocks, John King, Beth Nissen, Soledad O’Brien, Aneesh Raman, Ram Ramgopal, Shihab Rattansi, Hugh Riminton, Richard Roth, Atika Shubert, Harris Whitbeck, correspondents and anchors; Sue Bunda, senior vice president, CNN US; Jonathan Klein, president, CNN US; Chris Cramer, managing director, CNN International; Rena Golden, senior vice president, CNN International; Jim Walton, president, CNN News Group.” I wonder if Aaron Brown will attend next month’s ceremony…