CBS News Tops 2018 Murrow Awards

By Chris Ariens 

The 2018 Edward R. Murrow Award judges shared the wealth this year. CBS News wins the Murrow for Overall Excellence, ABC’s World News Tonight with David Muir is best Newscast, NBC News wins for Breaking News Coverage of the shooting at the Ft. Lauderdale airport, and CNN wins for Continuing Coverage of Hurricane Maria.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards, which honor the best of local TV and radio news, as well as national and digital news, will be presented at the RTDNA’s annual gala October 22 in New York.

In addition to the broadcast and cable networks, Netflix will be honored with three awards for News Documentary as well as Excellence in Video and Excellence in Sound. won best Website. ESPN, Vice and AJ+ are also winners.

Here’s the full list of winners. The Murrow Awards have been presented by the RTDNA since 1971.