CBS News Is Most-Honored News Organization at 2017 Murrow Awards

By A.J. Katz 

CBS News and CNN were among the top honorees at last night’s RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards ceremony.

RTDNA’s annual gala recognizes top work produced by radio, TV and online news organizations, and was held last night in New York.

CBS News had the strongest night, with CBS Radio News and CBS News (TV) winning the 2017 Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in their respective categories.  CBS News’s TV team also won top newscast, continuing coverage, writing and investigative reporting, while the CBS Radio team won the network newscast category, as well as breaking news.

CNN matched CBS News TV with five awards on the night, including breaking news, hard news, news series, excellence in social media and excellence in video.

Presenters at last night’s gala included CNN’s Brian Stelter, NBC News’s Kate Snow, CBS News’s Bianna Golodryga, CBS Radio News’s Steve Kathan, ABC News Radio’s Alex Stone and Scott Goldberg, NPR’s Sonari Glinton, and RTDNA chairman Scott Libin.

Here’s a full list of the 2017 winners in the Overall Excellence categories:

  • CBS News, New York, NY (Network Television)
  • CBS Radio News, New York, NY (Network Radio)
  • The New York Times, New York, NY (Large Digital News Organization)
  • The Texas Tribune, Austin, TX (Small Digital News Organization)
  • KXAS-TV, Fort Worth, TX (Large Market Television)
  • WWBT-TV, Richmond, VA (Small Market Television)
  • WTOP-FM, Washington, DC (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)

RTDNA (Radio Television Digital News Association) awarded 122 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 15 categories this year, including excellence in breaking news, innovation, investigative reporting, five student awards and more. The organization received nearly 4,300 entries during the awards season.