Campbell Brown Hosts Courage in Journalism Awards

By kevin 

Tonight, CNN’s Campbell Brown will host the Courage in Journalism Awards in Los Angeles. The awards “honor women journalists who have shown extraordinary strength of character and integrity while reporting the news under dangerous or difficult circumstances” and are given by the International Women’s Media Foundation, the board of directors for which Brown is a co-chair. Press release after the jump.

The International Women’s Media Foundation’s Courage in Journalism Awards to Be Held in Los Angeles on October 28th

David Geffen, Angie Harmon, Kristen Bell, Rashida Jones, Arianna Huffington, Heather Tom, Ashley Jones, Lesley-Anne Down, Hunter Tylo, Alley Mills, Sarah Brown and Jacqueline MacInnes Wood Among Others Come out to Support the IWMF’s Courage in Journalism Awards

WHO: 2009 Courage in Journalism Award winners: Iryna Khalip of Belarus, reporter and editor in the Minsk bureau of Novaya Gazeta; Agnès Tailé of Cameroon, media consultant and former reporter for Canal 2 International, radio and television; and Jila Baniyaghoob* of Iran, freelance reporter and editor-in-chief of the Web site Kanoon Zanan Irani (Iranian Women’s Center). The 2009 Lifetime Achievement Award winner: Amira Hass, a reporter and columnist for Ha’aretz Daily, a newspaper based in Tel Aviv.

“These remarkable journalists have chosen to report the news in three countries where pursuit of the truth puts them at risk for arrest, physical attacks and even death,” said Judy Woodruff, chair of the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards. “Still, they have consistently, for many years, chosen to risk their lives and livelihoods in pursuing stories that illuminate the lives of people in their countries and enlighten us all.”

*Baniyaghoob will not attend the event.

WHEN: Wednesday, October 28, 2009 @ 6:30 p.m.**

WHERE: Beverly Hills Hotel, 9641 Sunset Blvd., Beverly Hills

Tickets can be purchased at:

For the fourth straight year, the IWMF is proud to have Bank of America as our national presenting sponsor of the Courage in Journalism Awards. Mistress of Ceremonies is Campbell Brown, anchor, CNN’s Campbell Brown. Event Chair is David Geffen, chairman, The Geffen Company.

Created in 1990, the IWMF Courage in Journalism Awards honor women journalists who have shown extraordinary strength of character and integrity while reporting the news under dangerous or difficult circumstances. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for women in the news media. Including this year’s award winners, 66 journalists have won Courage Awards and 18 journalists have been honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards. The 2009 awards were also presented in New York City on October 20, 2009 at the Waldorf-Astoria.