Beth Mowins Becomes First Woman to Call Play-by-Play for NFL on CBS

By A.J. Katz 

The NFL on CBS is debuting five new broadcast teams for the upcoming season, and one of the teams is particularly newsworthy. CBS Sports has decided to add play-by-play announcer Beth Mowins to its lineup, where she will be teamed with former Pro Bowl kicker-turned NFL game analyst Jay Feely. Mowins becomes the first woman to ever call play-by-play for CBS’s NFL contests. The Mowins-Feely team will debut on September 24th, calling Browns-Colts.

The September 24th NFL game broadcast will not be Mowins’s first. She will call the second opening-week ESPN Monday Night Football game between the LA Chargers and Denver Broncos, which will take place on September 11th. This will be the first nationally televised NFL game called by a woman.

Mowins has been calling college games for more than a decade and has been the Oakland Raiders’ preseason play-by-play announcer since 2015.


CBS Sports will once again by led by the network’s iconic lead play-by-play announcer Jim Nantz, who will be joined for the first time by former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo and sideline reporter Tracy Wolfson.

The new lead trio of Nantz, Romo and Wolfson also will call Thursday Night Football games on CBS and NFL Network, in addition to the top Sunday games.

In addition to Mowins-Feely duo, Pro Football Hall of Famer James Lofton also joins as new game analyst alongside Andrew Catalon.

Ian Eagle, Dan Fouts and Evan Washburn remain the network’s No. 2 team and call CBS Sports’s top game on Sundays when Nantz, Romo and Wolfson are off.

The following are the NFL on CBS announcer pairings for the 2017 season (play-by-play/analyst//sideline reporter):

  • Jim Nantz/Tony Romo//Tracy Wolfson*
  • Ian Eagle/Dan Fouts//Evan Washburn
  • Greg Gumbel/Trent Green//Jamie Erdahl
  • Kevin Harlan/Rich Gannon
  • Andrew Catalon/James Lofton*
  • Spero Dedes/ Adam Archuleta*
  • Tom McCarthy /Steve Tasker/Steve Beuerlein*
  • Beth Mowins/Jay Feely*

Phil Simms and Nate Burleson join The NFL Today as new analysts alongside host James Brown and analysts Boomer Esiason and Bill Cowher from the CBS Broadcast Center in New York. Jason La Canfora continues to serve as the NFL Insider.