‘The Blacklist’ to Launch #RedOnTheRun Scavenger Hunt Ahead of Move to Thursday

By Adam Flomenbaum Comment

There was a good chance that ‘The Blackist’ would be another network crime drama cancelled early in its run, or, it would muddle along for a few seasons before disappearing. Instead, the show is one of NBC’s biggest hits in years, and the second half premiere of Season 2 will be airing immediately following this year’s Super Bowl.

To build anticipation for ‘The Blacklist’s’ return – and its coming move to Thursday nights, NBC on Monday will launch #RedOnTheRun, a scavenger hunt taking place in 25 cities. These type of hunts seem to be an increasingly popular online to offline tactic. Just a few weeks ago, Starz launched a #TakeWhatsYours treasure hunt in New York and Los Angeles to build excitement for the Black Sails Season 2 premiere.

NBC’s scavenger hunt takes place February 2-5, and will send fans on a mission to find Red Reddington (played by James Spader) look-alike decoys in their city by solving the clues seeded by the show’s various social accounts. Found look-alike decoys could be worth $500.

The second component to this is a national tune-in-and-win sweepstakes with a $25,000 cash prize, which may be entered during the show’s Thursday premiere on February 5. More information is available at http://www.redontherun.com, the #RedOnTheRun microsite.

More details about the scavenger hunt below:

Fans can participate in #RedOnTheRun by following @NBCBlacklist on Twitter or liking The Blacklist Facebook page. The first three fans in each city to catch the Red decoy, wearing his signature suit and fedora hat, will be rewarded with cash prizes – $500 for 1st place, $300 for 2nd place and $200 for 3rd place.

The #RedOnTheRun scavenger hunt will visit the following cities:

  • Monday, February 2– Los Angeles, Denver, Minneapolis, Boston, Hartford and Washington, DC

  • Tuesday, February 3– Sacramento, St. Louis, Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh

  • Wednesday, February 4– San Francisco, San Diego, Dallas, Indianapolis, Baltimore, Cleveland and Tampa

  • Thursday, February 5– New York, Seattle, Atlanta, Charlotte, Phoenix and Raleigh