Finalists Revealed for the 25th Annual Publishing Triangle Awards

By Maryann Yin 

The finalists of the 25th annual Publishing Triangle Awards have been revealed.

These awards celebrate the association’s mission “to increase awareness of and appreciation for lesbian and gay literature.” The winners will be announced on April 25th. The awards ceremony will take place at New School University in New York City.

Historian John D’Emilio has been named the winner of this year’s Bill Whitehead Lifetime Achievement Award. This honor also comes with $3,000 prize money. National Endowment for the Arts director of literature Ira Silverberg is the receipient of the Publishing Triangle’s Leadership Award. For the full list of finalists, follow the jump below.

Finalists for the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

  • Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • My Almost Certainly Real Imaginary Jesus by Kelly Barth (Arktoi/Red Hen)
  • A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Bornstein (Beacon Press)
  • Why Be Happy When You Can Be Normal by Jeanette Winterson (Grove Press)

Finalists for the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

  • Eminent Outlaws: The Gay Writers Who Changed America by Christopher Bram (Twelve/Hachette)
  • Fire in the Belly: The Life and Times of David Wojnarowicz by Cynthia Carr (Bloomsbury)
  • How to Be Gay by David M. Halperin (Belknap/Harvard University Press)
  • Robert Duncan: The Ambassador from Venus by Lisa Jarnot (University of California Press)

Finalists for the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

  • The Light That Puts an End to Dreams by Susan Sherman (Wings Press)
  • Port of Call by Davida Singer (Plain View Press)
  • Song and Spectacle by Rachel Rose (Harbour Publishing)
  • Wine for a Shotgun by Marty McConnell (EM Press)

Finalists for the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

  • Appetite by Aaron Smith (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • He Do the Gay Man in Different Voices by Stephen S. Mills (Sibling Rivalry Press)
  • Looking for the Gulf Motel by Richard Blanco (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • Slow Lightning by Eduardo C. Corral (Yale University Press)

Finalists for the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

  • Broken Like This by Monica Trasandes (Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s)
  • The Evening Hour by Carter Sickels (Bloomsbury)
  • Love, in Theory by E. J. Levy (University of Georgia Press)
  • Monstress by Lysley Tenorio (Ecco/HarperCollins)

Finalists for The Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBT Fiction

  • An Arab Melancholia, by Abdelleh Taïa (Semiotext[e])
  • By Blood, by Ellen Ullman (Farrar Straus Giroux)
  • A Horse Named Sorrow, by Trebor Healey (University of Wisconsin Press)
  • King of Angels, by Perry Brass (Belhue Press)
  • The Lava in My Bones, by Barry Webster (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • Sea Change, by Ken Anderson (Starbooks Press)