2016 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards Winners Unveiled

By Maryann Yin 

pen and keyboard (GalleyCat)The Rona Jaffe Foundation has revealed the six winners of the 22st annual Writers’ Awards: Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas, Danielle Geller, Jamey Hatley, Ladee Hubbard, Airea D. Matthews, and Asako Serizawa. Each winner will receive $30,000.00 in prize money.

These women will be presented with their awards at a private reception in New York City on September 15. Past winners include Meehan Crist, Vanessa Hua, and Ashley M. Jones.

Here’s more from the press release: “The program – the only national literary awards program of its kind devoted exclusively to women – was created by celebrated novelist Rona Jaffe to identify and support women writers of unusual talent and promise in the early stages of their writing careers. Ms. Jaffe passed away in 2005…Since the program began in 1995, the Foundation has awarded over $2 million to emergent women writers.”