These Ad Students Created a Music Video for Khruangbin

By Minda Smiley 

It’s nice when student work actually gets to see the light of day. In this case, it’s a music video for musical trio Khruangbin that’s already racked up thousands of views on YouTube following its release today (check it out above).

The team behind the video? The Kennedys, Wieden + Kennedy London’s crash course in creativity. According to the agency, the program caters to people who are looking to break into the creative industries but don’t have traditional credentials (i.e. people who’ve gone to ad school need not apply).


It’s usually five months (and paid), but due to Covid-19, 2020’s program was virtual, unpaid and shortened to 10 weeks. Still, it seems like last year’s “Kennedys” had a good run, as they not only created a music video for Khruangbin’s song “Dearest Alfred,” but also a remixed version by Knxwledge.

Laura Lee, Khruangbin’s bassist, is a Wieden + Kennedy alum, which explains how the tie-up happened.

“In a year where communication has a new spin of importance and focus has been put on the postal service, we wanted to make a video highlighting that sentiment for a song based on letters my grandfather sent to his brother. Working with The Kennedys, we were able to highlight these feelings from a variety of perspectives and through a variety of mediums—which felt important to the project,” she said in a statement.

“I’ve been a big fan of The Kennedys since working at W+K, as it gives creatives that lack work experience a chance to gain some amidst the beautiful chaos of real agency life, and feel extremely proud for the opportunity to work with them on such a meaningful project,” Lee continued. “Our zoom call with them presenting us their ideas for the video was one of my favorite moments of quarantine–I felt incredibly inspired and humbled.”

The Kennedys is led by Preety Mudhar, Wieden + Kennedy London’s creative community director.

Creatives: Roni Niu, Ayiesha Smith, Ianna Gordon, Mahalia Peake, Walaa Ellabib, Rosemary Moss, Jackie Davies, Great Okosun, Sammy Watts-Stanfield
Producer: Sammy Watts-Stanfield
Designer: Craig Atkinson
Director / DOP: Roni Niu, Ayiesha Smith, Ianna Gordon, Mahalia Peake, Walaa Ellabib, Rosemary Moss, Jackie Davies, Great Okosun, Sammy Watts-Stanfield, Sof Vujanic
Editorial Company: Trim
Editor: James Forbes-Robertson / Joe D’Ovidio
Post House: Time Based Arts
Post Producer: Sean Ewins
Flame Artist: Stephen Grasso
Animators: Roni Niu, Rosemary Moss
Colourist: Myles Bevan