The Ad Council Appoints 18 New Members to its Board of Directors

By Kyle O'Brien 

The Ad Council has elected 18 new members to its board of directors, and the list includes three agency executives—Jamie Gutfreund of Whalar, Chrissie Hanson of OMD and Tyler Turnbull of FCB—along with C-level people from major brands, tech companies and publishers.

During its fall meeting held earlier this week, the non-profit organization’s board welcomed the new members to fill the group with talent, insights and financial support to ensure that the Ad Council’s campaigns are effective and impactful.

The board is chaired by Jacki Kelley, CEO, Americas, Dentsu, along with vice-chairs Tara Walpert Levy, vp, Americas, YouTube and Diego Scotti, executive vice president and chief marketing officer at Verizon.


In addition to spearheading the nonprofit’s wide-reaching Covid-19 Vaccine Education initiative, the Ad Council’s board of directors is now working closely with the organization’s leadership on a new mental health communications effort.

New members of the Ad Council Board of Directors include:

  • Heidi Andersen, chief revenue officer, Nextdoor
  • Elizabeth Brady, evp, chief marketing, customer & communications officer, Allstate
  • Marc Brodherson, senior partner, McKinsey & Company
  • Jill Cress, chief marketing & experience officer, H&R Block
  • Denise Dresser, global CRO CMT, Salesforce
  • Jamie Gutfreund, global chief marketing officer, Whalar
  • Cathy Hackl, chief metaverse officer, Journey
  • Chrissie Hanson, chief executive officer, OMD USA
  • Tariq Hassan, chief marketing and customer experience officer, McDonald’s USA
  • Jean-Paul Jansen, chief marketing officer, Mars Pet Care North America
  • Alice McKown, publisher and chief revenue officer, The Atlantic
  • Travis Montaque, co-founder & CEO, Group Black and founder & CEO of Holler
  • Brett O’Brien, chief marketing officer, Frito-Lay North America
  • James Rooke, president, Comcast Advertising
  • David Roter, vp, global solutions, Snap
  • Deb Stambaugh, chief marketing officer, Quantcast
  • Tyler Turnbull, global CEO, FCB
  • Jennifer Wilson, svp, enterprise brand and marketing, Lowe’s Companies, Inc.

“Each member of our Board is an integral part of the fabric of the Ad Council and a driving force behind the impact we make year after year. Through their passion, talent and resources, our work will continue to make significant strides across a multitude of critical social issues,“ said Lisa Sherman, president and CEO of the Ad Council in a statement.